Award Page
Thank you to everyone who submitted a 2024 award nomination. The objective review and selection process will run through November.
The Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education recognizes faculty who have made exemplary efforts to start or sustain an undergraduate program, collaborated with community partners and other disciplines, and garnered respect and enthusiasm from students. Named for Dr. Richard and Mrs. Linda Riegelman, the award was established to encourage and recognize excellence in teaching public health to undergraduate students.

2022 Award Recipient

Caryl E. Waggett, PhD

Allegheny College UG PH Program

Read More


Criteria for Award

Nominations should include a description of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in:

  • Demonstration of innovative leadership for enhancing excellence, health equity, and inclusiveness in undergraduate academic public health education.
  • Exemplary efforts to start or sustain an undergraduate program.
  • Innovative teaching techniques using advanced technology.
  • Relationships with practice partners in the community.
  • Collaboration with other disciplines.
  • Relationships with CEPH-accredited graduate schools or programs of public health; and
  • Teacher evaluations by students.


Nominees must be full-time faculty with a primary appointment at an Undergraduate Network for Academic Public Health member program.

Undergraduate Network members include ASPPH graduate schools and programs that offer BA/BS in public health or related degree, CEPH accredited undergrad institutions, and non-CEPH accredited institutions.

Award Details

$1,000 Cash Prize

Complimentary registration for ASPPH Annual Meeting

Recognition at the Awards Ceremony

Past Winners


Gloria T. DiFulvio, PhD, MPH, MEd

University of Massachusetts-Amherst School of Public Health and Health Sciences


Karin J. Opacich, PhD, MHPE, OTR/L, FAOTA

University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health


Elahe Nezami, PhD

University of Southern California Programs in Public Health


Daniel S. Gerber, EdD, MPH

University of Massachusetts-Amherst School of Public Health and Health Sciences


Lauren D. Arnold, PhD, MPH

Saint Louis University College for Public Health and Social Justice


Sara Mackenzie, MD, MPH

University of Washington School of Public Health


Sarah Bauerle Bass, PhD, MPH

Temple University College of Public Health


Karen (Kay) Perrin, PhD, MPH

University of South Florida School of Public Health


Kelly Gebo, MD, MPH

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health