2024 Award Recipient

Kelly Beckwith, MPH, CHES

George Mason University College of Public Health

Read More

The ASPPH Student Services Excellence Award recognizes individuals who have devoted their careers to innovating and improving the experience for applicants and students. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty or staff member from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health.

Criteria for Award

Nominations should include a description of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in:

  • Demonstration of innovative leadership for enhancing excellence, health equity, and inclusiveness in academic public health student services.
  • Any or all areas of Recruitment, Admissions, Student Services, Financial Aid, and Career Services.
  • Examples of activities which will be considered:
    • Unique or innovative service delivery models;
    • Exemplary processes or procedures that simplify or add value for the students;
    • Collaborative efforts either across functional areas or institutions;
    • Unique models to target underrepresented groups; and
    • Innovative training or professional development efforts.


  • Nominees must be full-time faculty from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health. View the list of ASPPH-member institutions
  • Hold a primary appointment in an ASPPH-member school or program of public health
  • Demonstrate a notable record of success and innovation in the field (minimum five years)

Required Materials

All nominations must contain the following materials: 

  • Nominee and nominator contact information; 
  • Overview statement of nominee’s contributions (limit 800 words); 
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae; and 
  • Two additional letters of support. 

Award Details

$1,000 Cash Prize

Complimentary registration for ASPPH Annual Meeting

Recognition at the Awards Ceremony

Objective Review & Selection

Each nomination is assigned to an objective review and selection committee for that award. The committee is comprised of previous awardees, ASPPH Section leaders, and those nominated by their Dean to participate. Nominations are scored on the following criteria: 

  • Overall Rating (5=high, 1=low) 
  • The work (research/practice/teaching) conducted by this candidate has promising implications for improving public health (5=strongly agree, 1=strongly disagree) 
  • Strength of the letters of support (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 
  • Strength of candidate’s experience (CV) (5=very strong, 1=very weak) 

All scores and comments are compiled, the candidates ranked, and a summary report is sent to the committee for review. ASPPH and the committee will discuss each nomination and determine the awardee.  

A Zoom meeting is scheduled with the ASPPH Program manager and committee to discuss each nomination and determine the awardee.  

Past Winners


Quin Hussey, MPH

University of California, Berkeley School of Public Health


Michael Vega, PhD, MSW

Rutgers School of Public Health


Vincent James, MBA, MA, MS

Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health


Scot McIntosh, MS

West Virginia University School of Public Health


Marlyn Delva, EdD

Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health


Erin E. Schneider, MPH

Texas A&M School of Public Health


Mary Murphy-Phillips, MS

Boston University School of Public Health


Mary Ann Smith, PhD

University of Texas School of Public Health


Kara Brown Robinson, EdD, MS

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health