ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Yale: Top Educators Recognized at Yale School of Public Health

Three members of the Yale School of Public Health’s academic community were selected by the Class of 2019 for their commitment to advancing the student experience and promoting academic achievement.

Dr. Mayur Desai received the YSPH Distinguished Teaching Award — the school’s highest honor. Students selected Dr. Desai in recognition of his “exceptional teaching and striving to make information relevant and entertaining to students.” Dr. Desai, an associate professor in the Department of Chronic Disease Epidemiology, directs the Advanced Professional MPH. Program. His work focuses on improving the quality and outcomes of medical care in complex and vulnerable populations, and health system strengthening in low- and middle-income settings.

Dr. J. Lucian Davis, was named the 2019 Distinguished Student Mentor. He was selected for his “unique ability to be simultaneously positive and encouraging while also constructive in his comments.”   The mentoring award recognizes the recipient as a leader in shaping the next generation of public health professionals and one who serves as a role model for their students; encourages their students to grow and achieve their full potential; is sensitive to students’ needs and concerns; provides ongoing feedback and makes extraordinary efforts to help their students.

Dr. Adam Viera was honored as Teaching Fellow of the Year. This award recognizes a YSPH doctoral student who demonstrates outstanding performance as a teaching fellow and promise as a future teacher. The honor recognizes the recipient as a leader in shaping the next generation of public health professionals, someone who serves as a role model for students, sets high expectations, gives feedback and helps students in multiple ways.