ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Yale Dean Receives Ward Cates Spirit Award from HIV Prevention Trials Network

Dean Sten Vermund of the Yale School of Public Health receives the Ward Cates Spirit Award from the HIV Prevention Trials Network (HPTN). This award recognizes an HPTN member who has made outstanding contributions to the organization’s mission of reducing HIV infections through public health advocacy, leadership and mentoring.

Presenting the award are Dr. Anthony Fauci, (right), a prominent immunologist and director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, and Dr. Myron S. Cohen, co-PI of HPTN along with Dr. Wafaa El-Sadr, (not pictured).

The award is named for Willard (Ward) Cates Jr., a distinguished scientist and president emeritus of FHI 360 and principal investigator of HIVNET’s International Master Contractor and HPTN from 1994 to 2006. The award is presented to someone with qualities valued by Cates, including creativity, passion, and a dedication to HIV advocacy and research. Cates passed away in March of 2016.