ASPPH logo


School & Program Updates

School & Program Updates

West Virginia Delta Omega Chapter Receives 2017 Chapter of the Year

The Gamma Mu Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society is making history. For the fifth year in a row, the West Virginia University School of Public Health chapter has been named Chapter of the Year from the national organization. The chapter accepted the award last week during the American Public Health Association’s yearly meeting and exposition in Atlanta, GA.

WVU’s chapter leaders, Ms. Angela Dyer and Ms. Sabena Thomas, were invited to also present strategies that have contributed to the chapter’s sustained success and highlight their activities during the past year. The award recognizes year-long efforts that promote academic and service excellence in public health.

The official award announcement can be found on the Delta Omega website. Delta Omega is public health’s honorary society and was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University’s School of Public Health. There are more than 100 chapters and 20,000 members throughout the world.

Read more