ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Vanderbilt Faculty Honored by AAAS

Dr. Yu Shyr, Harold L. Moses Professor of Cancer Research, and professor of biostatistics, biomedical informatics, cancer biology and health policy, is among the nine Vanderbilt University faculty members that have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science this year.

[Photo: Dr. Yu Shyr]

They are among 391 fellows from around the country selected by their peers “because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.”

“It is a tremendous honor for our faculty to be nominated and elected by their peers as AAAS fellows, a group that includes the most esteemed scientists in their fields,” said Dr. Susan R. Wente, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs. “These nine faculty members individually have made significant contributions to advancing our understanding through basic and applied research and also by serving as mentors to the next generation of scholars. Collectively, they contribute greatly to our One Vanderbilt community of discovery.”

The new fellows will be recognized February 18, 2017, at the AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

Vanderbilt now has 119 AAAS fellows among its current and emeritus faculty and staff. More than half of them — 64 — were elected during the past five years, reflecting remarkable momentum and growth of the institution’s academic standing.

“I want to congratulate our faculty on this career distinction. Each has contributed significantly to Vanderbilt’s reputation on the world stage while advancing scientific knowledge within their field. Beyond this acknowledgement are the lives positively impacted through their work, through important new discoveries in science, medicine and engineering,” said Dr. Jeff Balser, president and CEO of Vanderbilt University Medical Center and dean of the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.