ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UTHealth: Regional Dean Accepted into University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D. Academy of Health Science Education

Dr. Deanna Hoelscher, PhD has been accepted into The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D. Academy of Health Science for her teaching excellence and commitment to the enhancement of health science education.

“Dr. Hoelscher has been an invaluable asset in the growth and development of our Austin campus,” said Dr. Susan Tortolero-Emery, senior associate dean at University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Public Health, “By guiding students and faculty to foster new and innovative approaches to child and adolescent health, our school is better positioned to continue serving populations through earlier, and more effective health interventions.”

Dr. Hoelscher currently serves as the regional dean for the UTHealth School of Public Health Austin Campus and is the director of the Michael & Susan Dell Center for Healthy Living. Her research includes examining child and adolescent nutrition, developing and implementing school-and community-based health promotion programs, dietary assessment methodology, evaluation of child obesity policies, linkages between primary care and public health, and dissemination of school health programs.

“Teaching has made me think more clearly and creatively,” said Dr. Hoelscher. “It is important to be open to new insights from students who bring their own life experiences into the classroom.”

The Shine Academy was founded in honor of Dr. Kenneth I. Shine upon his retirement as the UT System Executive Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs. Members of the Shine Academy are recognized as outstanding scholars and leaders in education from across all UTHealth science institutions.

Tags: ,