ASPPH logo




Update on ASPPH’s Response to CEPH, Round 2

Even before CEPH released their newest iteration of the accredited criteria last Friday, Dean David Goff (Colorado), chair of the ASPPH Accreditation and Credentialing Committee, has been working with staff on plans for our review in preparation for the association-wide response.

Please note that this version of the accreditation criteria is the full set, with the curricular portion that was circulated for comment earlier this year, and since revised significantly by CEPH, folded into the document.

Thank you, in advance, to the many of you who are examining the criteria, posting comments for reactions, and leading groups on conference calls. Already there is a lively conversation in the ASPPH Online Community regarding the distinguishing characteristics of schools and programs.  If you would like to join the Online Community, please contact Ms. Liz Weist at

Mark your calendars for Thursday, December 3, 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. Eastern to participate in a Q&A webinar for all ASPPH members interested in contributing to building the ASPPH consensus response to CEPH. View details and register. Dean Goff is hosting the webinar on behalf of the Accreditation Committee. Dean John Finnegan (Minnesota), Dr. Ian Lapp (Harvard), Ms. Ruth Gaare Bernheim (UVA), and Ms. Mollie Mulvanity (CEPH) are confirmed panelists.

Comments on the criteria will be due to CEPH on January 8, 2016 so that they can translate stakeholder feedback from Round 2 to their board councilors at their late January meeting.  ASPPH members are encouraged to submit individual as well as institutional comments directly to CEPH by the deadline, as the ASPPH response initiative is not intended as a substitute for members’ comments.

CEPH plans to open Round 3 of comments, on a more refined version of the full set of criteria, as soon as possible after that meeting.