ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC: Yeatts Wins 2020 ASPPH Award for Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Karin Yeatts, associate professor of epidemiology at the University Of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health, has been selected by the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH) as the 2020 recipient of the Teaching Excellence Award.

The ASPPH Teaching Excellence Award recognizes graduate public health faculty who demonstrate excellence in teaching, research and mentorship. For more than 25 years, Dr. Yeatts has demonstrated a commitment to innovative scholarship and leadership at the Gillings School.

Dr. Yeatts’ courses range from undergraduate introductory public health to graduate-level introductory epidemiology, with a consistent focus on experiential learning in the classroom. Her research explores the public health impact of climate change and air pollution, and she has been highlighted as a leader in the field of research on air quality.

In addition, Dr. Yeatts teaches introductory epidemiology to students across the United States and abroad through a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) in epidemiology, which was developed in 2013 with her input. It is one of only two epidemiology MOOCs in the world, with more than 8,500 students completing it to date.

“Karin’s excellence in teaching was instrumental in establishing our new applied epidemiology concentration, enrolling the first cohort of 13 students for the fall 2019 semester,” said Dr. Til Stürmer, Nancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professor and chair of epidemiology. “In addition to winning the 2019 Teaching Innovation Award from the Department of Epidemiology and the 2019 Edward G. McGavran Award for Excellence in Teaching from the Gillings School, this national recognition of Karin’s teaching excellence is really fantastic news.”

Read more.

Tags: ,