ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC: Weintraub Named Rozier Douglass Distinguished Professor of Dental Public Health

Dr. Jane Weintraub, has been selected as the first recipient of the R. Gary Rozier and Chester W. Douglass Distinguished Professorship in Dental Public Health. Dr. Weintraub, former dean of the UNC Adams School of Dentistry, holds a joint appointment as Alumni Distinguished Professor at the Adams School of Dentistry and adjunct professor of health policy and management at the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Like those whom this professorship honors – Dr. Chester Douglass, and Dr. Gary Rozier, both faculty members at the Gillings School– Dr. Weintraub is considered a national leader in dental public health. She is best known for her expertise in oral epidemiology, dental public health and clinical research, and is a recognized leader in research to understand and prevent oral health disparities.

“I am very honored to receive this professorship,” said Dr. Weintraub. “It is particularly meaningful for me because I have been fortunate to work closely with both Drs. Douglass and Rozier over the years and have benefited from their mentorship, extensive knowledge and collegiality. They are both giants in the field of dental public health.”

Dr. Weintraub conducted the first United States randomized clinical trial testing the efficacy of fluoride varnish to prevent dental caries in young children. The successful results of that study have led to fluoride varnish becoming a standard of care for young children, especially those with high risk of disease.

Read more