ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC: Professor Selected as Member of 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor and chair of nutrition at the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health, is one of 20 nationally recognized scientists selected to serve on the 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee.

The independent advisory committee will review scientific evidence on topics and questions identified by the departments of health and human services and agriculture and will provide a report on their findings to the departments’ secretaries. Their review, along with public and agency comments, will help inform U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)’ development of the 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

“It is a tremendous honor and responsibility to serve on the 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee,” Dr. Mayer-Davis said. “Because science evolves, what we thought we knew changes as new science emerges, and our national nutrition policies and programs must be based on the most rigorous science available.  I’m very much looking forward to being part of the process to ensure the solid scientific foundation to inform the 2020 guidelines.”

The next edition of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans will continue to focus on dietary patterns of what Americans eat and drink as a whole, on average and over time, to help prevent disease and keep people healthy. The review process also will take a life-stage approach and will, for the first time, include pregnant women and children from birth to 24 months, as mandated by the 2014 Farm Bill. The Guidelines are updated every five years and serve as the cornerstone of federal nutrition programs and policies, providing food-based recommendations to help prevent diet-related chronic diseases and promote overall health.

Read more