ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC Professor Receives AUPHA Award for Career-long Efforts to Improve Health Policy and Management Education

Dr. Peggy Leatt, emeritus professor and former chair of the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health’s department of health policy and management, has been inducted into the Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA) Hall of Fame.

[Photo: Dr. Peggy Leatt]

AUPHA, a global network of colleges, universities, faculty members, individuals and organizations dedicated to the improvement of health and health care delivery through excellence in health care management and policy education, aims to foster excellence and innovation in health management and policy education and promote the value of university-based management education for leadership roles in the health sector.

The Hall of Fame award recognizes individuals who have had a long relationship with the organization and who have made a significant impact in the field.

“Peggy’s induction into the AUPHA Hall of Fame is richly deserved,” said Dr. Morris Weinberger, Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor of Healthcare Quality Management and chair of the Gillings School’s health policy and management department.  “She has been deeply committed to the organization’s mission and instrumental in its success. Perhaps most noteworthy is her achievement in increasing the visibility of women in the leadership of AUPHA. She was the first woman to serve as chair of its board of directors and the first woman to receive the Filerman Prize for Educational Leadership.”

Dr. Leatt was recognized at the annual AUPHA meeting, held June 13-15 in Philadelphia.

Read more