ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Toxicology Society to Honor Arizona Faculty with Translational Impact Award

Dr. Jeff Burgess, associate dean for research and professor at the University of Arizona Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, is the recipient of the 2015 Society of Toxicology (SOT) Translational Impact Award for his work to reduce toxic exposures and prevent injuries among first responders, miners, and the general public.


[Dr. Jeff Burgess]

The SOT is the world’s largest association representing the field of toxicology. Toxicologists are responsible for aiding human, animal, and environmental health and safety through the study of the adverse effects of chemicals and other biological agents.

The award is given to a scientist whose outstanding clinical, environmental health or translational research has improved human and public health in an area of toxicological concern within the last 10 years. The award presentation will take place at the Fifty-fourth Annual Meeting & ToxExpo in San Diego, California, March 22–26, where Dr. Burgess  also will be a featured lecturer.

Dr. Burgess participates in several university-wide health collaborations, including the Southwest Environmental Health Sciences Center, the Lowell Institute for Mineral Resources, the University of Arizona Cancer Center, Institute for the Environment, and the UA BIO5 Institute. He also holds an adjunct appointment in the UA Department of Mining and Geological Engineering. He serves on national committees dedicated to fostering research to improve the health and safety of public safety personnel and miners.

Read more: