ASPPH logo


School & Program Updates

School & Program Updates

Texas A&M hosts 29th Annual Health Economics Conference

Health economists from all around the country attended the 29th Annual Health Economics Conference (AHEC) Oct. 11-12. The purpose of this annual invitational conference is to allow health economists to present their work in progress and receive critical review from both senior and junior colleagues.

“We had 10 papers competitively selected on topics ranging from the Affordable Care Act (ACA), pollution, pharmaceutical pricing, Medicaid and physical-industry interactions,” said conference organizer Dr. Michael Morrisey, professor and head of the department of health policy and management at the Texas A&M School of Public Health.

As one of the premiere health economics conferences held each year, health economists from John Hopkins University, Harvard University, Emory University, Georgetown University, the Federal Bank of Chicago, multiple Texas universities, and others presented and participated in discussions around pressing issues facing the nation today.

“Among the empirical questions raised was the extent to which the ACA insurance mandate increased exchange enrollment, the magnitude of the Flint lead contamination on physician office visits, the effects of the Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal on health outcomes, and the effects of in-kind transfers on Medicare home health use,” said Dr. Morrisey.  “After a round of revisions, the papers will be submitted for publication.”

Along with the School of Public Health, the conference was co-sponsored by the Bush School of Government and Public Service, the Department of Economics and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

[Photo: Pictured Back Row L-R: Michael Richards, John Brooks, Jason Lindo, Nima Khodakarami, Theodoros Giannouchos, David Pritchard, Adam Bestenbostel, Michael Morrisey (conference organizer), Mike Geruso; Thomas DeLeire; Timothy Layton; Sebastian Tello-Trillo Middle Row L-R: Manuel Hoffman, Robert Ohsfeldt; Roberto Mosquera; Tiffany Radcliff; Andrew Ching; Nikita Wagle; Kelly Andrea; Marguerite Burns; Laura Dague; Joanna Lahey; Stephen Schwab; David Slusky; Daniels Sacks Front Row L-R: Jason Hockenberry, Ethan Lieber, Matthew Grennan; Diane Alexander]