ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Texas A&M: Department of Health Policy and Management Alums Receive Edgar C. Hayhow Award

At the annual American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) Congress in Chicago, Illinois, the Edgar C. Hayhow Award was presented to Dr. Aaron C. Spaulding, Dr. Nicholas Edwardson, and Dr. Mei Zhao for their article, “Hospital Value-Based Purchasing Performance:  Do Organizational and Market Characteristics Matter?” Their article was published in the January/February 2018 issue of the Journal of Healthcare Management.

This award was created in honor of the ACHE’s 14th Chairman (1947-1948) and the first practicing administrator to earn a doctoral degree.

“While our graduates, Aaron and Nick, are elsewhere now, it is gratifying to see their work recognized,” commented Dr. Mike Morrisey, professor and head of the Department of Health Policy and Management.

Dr. Spaulding is an assistant professor at the University of North Florida and Dr. Edwardson is an assistant professor at the University of New Mexico.