ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Texas A&M Alum Receives 2017 National Eye Institute Award

Alumni Board Member Ms. Kristina Beaugh Savitske ’14 was awarded the 2017 National Eye Institute (NEI) Rookie of the Year Award from NEI Director Dr. Paul Sieving.

[Photo: Ms. Kristina Beaugh Savitske (right)]

Mrs. Savitske currently serves as a Public Affairs Specialist in the NEI Office of Science Communication, Public Liaison, and Education.   She is responsible for supporting the National Eye Health Education Program (NEHEP) through planning, implementing, and evaluating eye health outreach efforts to diverse audiences.  Kristina also manages the NEI and NEHEP social media and digital communications efforts related to vision research and eye health.

Previously she worked at the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food Safety and Inspection Service as a Public Affairs Specialist promoting food safety education and policy using digital communication strategies, partnership development and management, and media outreach.

Mrs. Savitske recently visited the Texas A&M School of Public Health campus to present on her experiences as a public health professional in the federal government and to encourage students to pursue careers in public service.