ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

South Florida Faculty Named to Inaugural Class of 50 Under 50

“I felt extremely humbled when I received the announcement that I had been chosen via email. I never really believe I deserve awards so when I received this one I questioned if they were sure it was meant for me,” said University of South Florida College of Public Health’s Dr. Alicia Best.

[Photo: Dr. Alicia L. Best (Photo by Caitlin Keough)]

Born and raised on the Southside of Chicago in the Englewood neighborhood, Dr. Best attended Alabama State University where she earned her BS in health information management in 2007, an MPH from the Morehouse School of Medicine in 2009, and a PhD in public health at the University of South Carolina in 2012.

After joining the USF Department of Community and Family Health in 2015 as an assistant professor, Dr. Best said that she “aims to make meaningful contribution to the elimination of cancer-related health disparities.”

Dr. Best received the announcement that she had been selected as a member of ASU’s inaugural class of 50 under 50 on August 18. She was nominated by Ms. Sandra Malone, former executive administrative assistant to the president of the University and someone Dr. Best had worked with for many years.

The announcement was made by Alabama State University’s Division of Institutional Advancement who considered the exceptional group of honorees as being the best and brightest alumni of the University.

Dr. Best was presented with the award on September 1.

Dr. Alicia Best pictured with 50 Under 50 award from Alabama State University

“Being recognized by my alma mater is an extreme honor,” Dr. Best said. “I am very proud to be a product of a historically black university. Alabama State University helped cultivate not only my professional path, but myself as an African American woman. So, it means the world to not only be honored by ASU, but to be honored by Mrs. Malone as well.”

[Photo: Dr. Alicia Best (left) with Sandra Malone at the 50 Under 50 award ceremony]