ASPPH logo


School & Program Updates

School & Program Updates

South Florida Delta Omega Chapter Receives 2017 Chapter of the Year Award

“Delta Omega is the national honor society for public health, a society that recognizes excellence and innovation in academic public health and public health practice,” Dean Donna Petersen said. “Somer’s election to the leadership board speaks to the high regard Delta Omega members have for USF and to Somer’s reputation as a proven leader in promoting excellence in public health practice experiences for all of our students.”

Dr. Somer Burke is COPH’s assistant director of experiential learning and an alumna. In her dual role as president of USF’s Tau Chapter and Delta Omega member at-large, she joins the executive committee who will make recommendations on advancing the national organization and its mission.

[At Delta Omega’s annual business meeting, COPH alumna Dr. Somer Burke was elected member at-large to the board of directors. (Photo courtesy of Dr. Somer Burke)]

Doctoral student Ms. Caitlin Wolfe and undergraduate Ms. Shahrzad Zamani were two of 19 students selected to represent USF at the Annual Delta Omega Student Poster Session. The event encourages and recognizes public health leaders of tomorrow.

“As a student who didn’t submit anything for the regular APHA sessions, I really appreciated the opportunity to attend and present at the Delta Omega session,” Ms. Wolfe said. “I had some great conversations and learned about additional organizations and conferences. The highlight was I was encouraged to submit work related to my Delta Omega abstract along with a personal recommendation from attendees interested in my poster!”

[Doctoral student Ms. Caitlin Wolfe presented her research at Delta Omega’s poster session in Atlanta. (Photo courtesy of Ms. Wolfe)]

“It was motivating to see a conference of this large capacity filled with public health professionals working toward healthier communities,” Ms. Zamani said. “I am very proud to be representing the Tau Chapter and for this opportunity to present my research.”

Ms. Zamani’s study is the first and only undergraduate student research to ever be presented at the poster session.

[Ms. Shahrzad Zamani (right) is the first undergraduate invited to present research at the Annual Delta Omega Poster Session. (Photo by Ellen Kent)]

The final Delta Omega kudos went to USF’s Tau Chapter.

“Ellen Kent worked tirelessly to represent all of the great things happening with our Tau Chapter and deserved the recognition of winning one of two 2017 Chapter of the Year Awards,” Dr. Burke said. “Our students were also presented with their awards at the meeting, so it was a time of real celebration for the College of Public Health!”

[Photo: Ms. Ellen Kent with a certificate noting that USF’s Tau Chapter is one of two earning the chapter of the year designation from Delta Omega. The award was presented in Atlanta during APHA. (Photo by Natalie Preston)]

Read more