ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

South Carolina: Alumna Megan Weis Receives SCPHA’s James A. Hayne and Voice of Public Health Awards

Dr. Megan Weis, a two-time alumna of the University of South Carolina Arnold School of Public Health at the (MPH and DrPH), received two prestigious awards from the South Carolina Public Health Association (SCPHA) this spring. The South Carolina Institute of Medicine and Public Health’s senior director for strategic engagement won the James A. Hayne Award and The Voice of Public Health Award.

Created to honor the memory of SCPHA’s first president, the Hayne Award is given to a member in recognition of meritorious achievements in public health over an extended period of time. Dr. Weis was chosen for this award for her advocacy of public health and public health education, joining the ranks of UofSC President and former Arnold School Dean, Dr. Harris Pastides, who received the award in 2003.

“Dr. Weis has been an incredible asset to SCPHA and a true advocate for Public Health and Health Education,” says Gloria McCurry, SCPHA administrative coordinator. “She has truly made a difference in every realm she has touched and takes pride in being a part of something for the greater good.”

The Voice of Public Health Awards honor South Carolinians for their work in the field. Twelve individuals, including Dr. Weis and Arnold School alumna Ms. Sara Goldsby, (director for the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services), were recognized in the inaugural cohort of recipients. Dr. Weis received this award for her efforts to advance public health initiatives in South Carolina.

“Dr. Weis is leading the charge online, in-person and through substantive policy that tell the story of what’s possible for our state and nation if all voices speak with a shared sense of knowledge, conviction and dedication,” says Dr. Ragan Dubose-Morris.

Read more

Tags: ,