ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Rutgers School of Public Health Faculty Among Sixty-Six Scientists Named to the National Academy of Inventors Inaugural Class of Senior Members

Rutgers School of Public Health distinguished professor, Dr. Jeffrey Laskin, has been named as a Senior Member of the Inaugural Class of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).  This is considered one of the highest professional honors among scientists and health professionals who have been recognized for distinguished and continuing achievements in original research leading to success in patents, licensing and commercialization.  Senior members are active faculty, scientists and administrators at NAI Member Institutions who have produced technologies that have brought, or aspire to bring, real impact on the welfare of society.

Senior members also foster a spirit of innovation within their communities through enhancing an inventive atmosphere at their institutions, while educating and mentoring the next generation of inventors. The NAI aims to honor members’ achievements and contributions to the innovation ecosystem at their institutions.

“This is quite an honor and I look forward to continuing my efforts in research, education and service to Rutgers University and the community at large,” comments Dr. Laskin, who is also a researcher at the Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute. “Instilling ideas on students and early career investigators is one of my top goals as I try to inspire the next generation of thinkers and inventors.”