ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Rutgers Faculty to Serve on EPA Boards

Rutgers School of Public Health faculty members Dr. Derek Shendell and Dr. Clifford Weisel have been nominated to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Board of Scientific Counselors. Mr. Scott Pruitt, EPA administrator, announced these and other appointments after reviewing hundreds of qualified applicants. “To ensure that EPA is receiving the best independent scientific advice, I am appointing highly-qualified experts and scientists to these important committees,” said Mr. Pruitt. These boards meld the perspectives of people from non-governmental organizations, academia, and industry, as well as state, tribal, and local officials.

Dr. Shendell has been nominated to the Sustainable and Healthy Communities (SHC) subcommittee. Dr. Shendell is a faculty member in the department of environmental and occupational health, as well as a member of the Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute’s Exposure Measurement and Assessment Division. He works to bridge science, education, and policy in a multidisciplinary fashion. His work with the New Jersey Safe Schools program with the New Jersey Department of Education, American Public Health Association, and New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development — among others — allows him to use various data to guide these groups and inform policy.

Dr. Weisel was nominated to continue to serve on the Chemical Safety for Sustainability (CSS) and Human Health Risk Assessment (HHRA) subcommittees. Dr. Weisel is a faculty member in the department of environmental and occupational health, a member of Rutgers University Environmental and Occupational Health Institute, and the co-director of Rutgers Graduate Program in Exposure Science. His research expertise encompasses multi-media and multi-route exposures to volatile organic compounds, semi-volatile organic compounds and metals and application of biomarkers of exposure.

Rutgers School of Public Health congratulates Dr. Shendell and Dr. Weisel on these appointments as their work continues to shape policy at the national level.

Full list of appointees