ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Northwestern Rheumatologist Receives Prestigious Award from Lupus Foundation of America

Dr. Rosalind Ramsey-Goldman, clinical rheumatologist and Solovy Arthritis Research Society professor at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine Program in Public Health, was recently awarded the 2017 Evelyn V. Hess Award for exceptional achievement in lupus research. The award was presented in early November to Ramsey-Goldman at the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Annual Scientific Meeting in San Diego, California.

[Photo: Dr. Rosalind Ramsey-Goldman being awarded the  2017 Evelyn V. Hess Award for exceptional achievement in lupus research.]

“I am honored to be the recipient of the Evelyn V. Hess Award from the Lupus Foundation of America,” said Dr. Ramsey-Goldman. “I remember being in awe of Dr. Hess when I interviewed with her for a rheumatology fellowship, and am humbled to be recognized by this award in her name for the work of my research teams and collaborators which have focused on improving the lives of those who suffer from lupus. Our studies of disease outcomes and health disparities, development of assessment tools and biomarkers, advances in management and new therapeutics, and the opportunities to mentor junior investigators have enriched not only my career but have also given hope to those with lupus.”

In the course of her career, Dr. Ramsey-Goldman has published 225 peer-reviewed journal articles and 69 invited publications on topics related to systemic lupus erythematosus, juvenile arthritis, pregnancy and rheumatic disease, health disparities in lupus, and mechanisms linked to vascular disease and osteoporosis.

She has also served on the American College of Rheumatology, National Institutes of Health, and the Systemic Lupus International Collaborating Clinics committees.

The Lupus Foundation of America established the Evelyn V. Hess Award in 2005 to honor Dr. Hess for her outstanding contributions to lupus research over the course of her tenure. Dr. Hess passed away in 2015 and her legacy lives on through this awards program. The award is given annually to a clinical or basic researcher whose body of work has advanced understanding of the pathophysiology, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, or treatment of lupus.

Read more: