ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Northwestern: Dr. Jane Holl Receives 2018 John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentorship Award from AHRQ

Dr. Jane Holl, of Northwestern University, has been presented with the 2018 John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentorship Award from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). To honor the legacy of Dr. John M. Eisenberg, who served as AHRQ Director from 1997-2002, the mentorship award has been presented annually since 2001 to an outstanding faculty member in a National Research and Service Award (NRSA) institutional training program, supported by AHRQ.  AHRQ fellows/trainees nominate faculty members for this prestigious award addressing the following individual characteristics:

  • Leads by example and demonstrates integrity.
  • Has seasoned experience in the field of health services research, health policy, and/or primary care research and willing to share skills, knowledge, and expertise with others.
  • Creates opportunities and opens doors for students.
  • Provides guidance and constructive feedback.
  • Inspires others and serves as a role model in leadership and professionalism.
  • Is a developer of talents and sponsor for students in the academic/professional community.
Dr. Holl was presented with the award at the 24th Annual AHRQ NRSA Trainees Research Conference on Saturday, June 23 in Seattle, WA.
Dr. Holl is a professor of pediatrics and director of two centers at the Institute for Public Health and Medicine (IPHAM) at Northwestern: the Center for Healthcare Studies and the Center for Education in Health Sciences.