ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

North Texas Names First Dean Emeritus

For the first time at the University of North Texas Health Science Center (UNTHSC), The UNT System Board of Regents has bestowed the unique and special honor of the Dean Emeritus title to Richard S. Kurz, PhD, on the day of his retirement.


The announcement was made by Dr. Thomas Yorio, UNTHSC Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, who recognized Dr. Kurz for his distinguished service to the university and his contributions in helping to find solutions for a healthier community.

Dr. Kurz led the UNTHSC School of Public Health, serving as Dean and tenured Professor of Health Management and Policy, for eight years. He will continue as an adjunct faculty member following retirement to complete several projects.