ASPPH logo


School & Program Updates

School & Program Updates

Nevada, Reno Now an Independent Academic Unit

The School of Community Health Sciences became an independent academic unit at the University of Nevada, Reno and under the leadership of founding dean Dr. Trudy Larson, has ambitious plans to grow and become further involved in the community to address the social determinants of health that affect the health of Nevadans and beyond.

At its core, the school’s mission is to develop, disseminate and apply knowledge with an ecological approach to protect and promote the health of populations.

Recognizing that population health requires a multi-faceted approach, the school emphasizes multiple perspectives in its curriculum, including the behavioral, socioeconomic, public policy, environmental and physical components. Its programs prepare future public health practitioners, researchers, educators and leaders; develop the knowledge base for public health through research; use innovative approaches to public health; and engage with multiple communities, especially diverse communities, through professional and scholarly service.

Currently, the school offers a minor, an undergraduate Bachelor of Science degree with two emphases, a master’s degree in four areas, and a PhD in two areas, as well as dual degree programs with nursing and medicine. Graduates from the School of Community Health Sciences are prepared to promote and protect the health of communities nearby and around the world.

Full Story