ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Nevada, Reno Dean Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award

Dean Trudy Larson was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for her more than 30 years of direct public health service at the Nevada Public Health Association’s 2017 Annual Conference. Dr. Larson is the founding dean of the newly independent University of Nevada, Reno School of Community Health Sciences.

[Photo: Dr. Trudy Larson, dean of the University of Nevada, Reno School of Community Health Sciences]

Dean Larson’s career also includes appointments at the University of Nevada, Reno, School of Medicine where she served as a professor, former chair of the department of pediatrics, and associate dean.

As a pediatric infectious disease specialist, Dr. Larson has spent her career focusing on HIV/AIDS and immunizations and has contributed to both fields in research, education and service. She is one of the founders and is the current medical director of the HOPES clinic providing medical services to those with HIV/AIDS. In her career serving as co-Medical Director for the AIDS Education and Training Center at the University, member of the Northern Nevada Immunization Coalition and medical consultant to the Washoe County District Health Department, she has taken the lead in speaking to professional audiences and the general public on topics such as AIDS, vaccination, disease outbreaks, bioterrorism, and sex education.