ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Michigan Professor Receives 2016 Gertrude M. Cox Award

The Washington Statistical Society has recognized Dr. Brhamar Mukherjee, professor of biostatistics at the University of Michigan SPH, as recipient of this year’s Gertrude M. Cox Award. The award was established in 2003 in memory of Dr. Gertrude Cox, (1900-1978) who was one of the founders of modern statistics and president of the American Statistical Association. Dr. Cox was also head of the department of experimental statistics at North Carolina State College, a founding member of the International Biometric Society, and was the first woman elected into the International Statistical Institute. The areas in which she worked included survey methodology, experimental design, biostatistics, and statistical computing. Each year the award and an honorarium are given to a statistician who has contributed significantly to one of these disciplines.

As this year’s winner, Dr. Mukherjee will receive her award and present a lecture at the annual Washington Statistical Society Dinner in Washington D.C. on June 28.

Read more about the Gertrude M. Cox Award here.