ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Louisville Faculty Named New Health Director

Dr. Joann Schulte has been named the new health director in Louisville, Kentucky. She also will have a faculty appointment at the University of Louisville School of Public Health and Information Sciences, in the Department of Epidemiology and Population Health. Louisville Metro Government and the university will split Dr. Schulte’s annual salary and benefits equally.

The Director of the Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness (LMPHW), an independent health department based in Kentucky, establishes and implements department-level goals, budget, policies, programs, and procedures. These duties are executed in collaboration with personnel in the department’s three divisions: Clinical Services, Community Health, and Environmental Health and Preparedness; and the Center for Health Equity. The director of health also represents the department to the Board of Health, health care community, educational institutions, governmental agencies, organizations, and the public concerning public health programs, operations and activities.