ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Louisville: Dr. Sarah Moyer Recognized as a National Leader in Public Health by de Beaumont Foundation

Dr. Sarah Moyer, assistant professor in the University of Louisville School of Public Health and Information Science Department of  Health Management, was recognized by the de Beaumont Foundation as one of its inaugural 40 Under 40 in Public Health.  The 40 rising stars of public health were chosen by a panel of judges for their fresh perspectives, creative problem-solving, and innovative health solutions in communities across the country.

Dr. Moyer also is director of the Louisville Metro Department of Public Health & Wellness (LMPHW) and the city’s Chief Health Strategist.

“Under Dr. Moyer’s leadership, our collaboration with the health department is stronger than it’s ever been,” said Dr. Craig Blakely, dean.  “We work together on research and grant opportunities, but most importantly, we work together to give public health students relevant, practical skills that help them become our future public health professionals. This award for Dr. Moyer is well-deserved.”

“Dr. Moyer is a bold, innovative leader and problem solver,” said Mayor Greg Fisher. “Under her leadership we’ve adopted a health-in-all-policies approach for all of Louisville Metro Government, provided racial healing training to hundreds of employees, launched a syringe exchange program that provides harm reduction services to 19,000 participants, and implemented ‘Hope, Healing and Recovery’, our citywide plan to address substance use disorder.”

Nominees were evaluated by a distinguished panel of professionals from the nonprofit, business, and higher education sectors on their demonstrated leadership, their contributions to their community’s health, and their collaboration with other organizations in public health and other sectors.

Read more.