ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Loma Linda: Professor Named to 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee

Dr. Joan Sabaté,  a professor at the Loma Linda University School of Public Health was announced as a member of the federal government’s 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee last week when U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue and U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar released the names of 20 nationally recognized scientists who compose the committee.

The committee’s review will help develop the 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans. In announcing the committee, Mr. Perdue and Mr. Azar said the guidelines, which are updated every five years, serve as the cornerstone of federal nutrition programs and policies, providing food-based recommendations to help prevent diet-related chronic diseases and promote overall health.

“We have the opportunity to craft improvements in the diet and health of Americans, and since many other countries look to America for guidance, we also have an opportunity to influence the eating patterns of people around the world,” he said.

Dr. Helen Hopp Marshak, dean of the School of Public Health, said Sabaté is the first Loma Linda University faculty member to be named to the committee.

“We are delighted to see Dr. Sabaté recognized for his expertise in the field of nutrition. Selection to this committee represents the culmination of decades of study on the part of Dr. Sabaté and his team. His research in vegetarian and plant-based nutrition over the years has ranked him as one of the country’s leading authorities on nutritional epidemiology. We see this also as a recognition of excellence for over 50 years of prevention research at the School of Public Health,” Dr. Hopp Marshak said.

Read more