ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Johns Hopkins: Faculty To Serve As Committee Chair For the Environmental Health Matters Initiative

Dr. Thomas Burke, the Jacob I. and Irene B. Fabrikant Chair and professor in the department of health policy and management at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, has been named committee chair for the Environmental Health Matters Initiative (EHMI). The initiative, launched by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine (NASEM), aims to transform how the nation addresses the complex issues associated with environmental health.

EHMI will bring together expertise across NASEM in the environment, medicine, social science, energy and engineering. It will involve leaders from government, corporate and academic entities to explore the latest science, identify promising solutions and create innovative pathways toward improving environmental health.

Dr. Burke served as deputy assistant administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Office of Research and Development as well as EPA’s science advisor from January 2015 to January 2017. The EHMI committee membership includes three deans of schools of public health: Dr. Ana Diez Roux from Drexel University, Dr. Lynn Goldman from George Washington University and Dr. Jonathan Samet from Colorado.