ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Johns Hopkins Faculty Named to 2017 Mayor Challenge Selection Committee

Bloomberg Philanthropies announced the selection committee for the 2017 U.S. Mayors Challenge, a nationwide competition that encourages city leaders to think big, be bold, and uncover inventive ideas that confront the toughest problems U.S. cities currently face. More than 320 cities are taking part in this year’s competition, the fourth Mayors Challenge Bloomberg Philanthropies has held since 2013. Former U.S. Ambassador Caroline Kennedy and Former Xerox Chairman and CEO Ursula Burns will co-chair the selection committee, which is comprised of distinguished policy experts, artists, academics, business executives and social innovation leaders, that will choose the winning cities.

From Johns Hopkins faculty, Dr. Joshua Sharfstein, inaugural director of the Bloomberg American Health Initiative, professor of the practice, and associate dean for public health practice and training at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He previously served as the health commissioner of Baltimore, as the health secretary of Maryland, and as the principal deputy commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, has been selected to serve on the selection committee.

Read more