ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Johns Hopkins: Faculty Elected to National Academy of Medicine

Dr. Colleen Barry, Fred and Julie Soper Professor and Chair of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health’s Department of Health Policy and Management, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Membership in the NAM is considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine.

The announcement of new NAM members, 100 total, was made October 21 in conjunction with the academy’s annual meeting in Washington, DC.

Dr. Barry is also co-director of the Center for Mental Health and Addiction Policy Research at the Bloomberg School.

NAM is an independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health, medicine and the natural, social, and behavioral sciences. It serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering as adviser for the nation and the international community.

New NAM members are elected by current members through a selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

In addition to Dr. Barry, new NAM members from Johns Hopkins University include Dr. Sharon Gerecht (Institute for NanoBioTechnology), Dr. Elizabeth M. Jaffee (Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center), and Dr. Dorry L. Segev (Department of Surgery, Johns Hopkins Medicine).

Read more.

Tags: ,