ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Johns Hopkins: Alumna Receives Distinguished Career Award from AcademyHealth

Dr. Diane Rowland, executive vice president at the Henry J. Kaiser Foundation and an alumna of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, has received the Distinguished Career Award from AcademyHealth. The Award recognizes investigators who have made significant and lasting contributions to the field of health services research through scholarship, teaching, advancement of science and methods, and leadership.

Dr. Rowland is a nationally recognized health policy expert with a distinguished career in public policy and research focusing on health insurance coverage, access to care and health financing for low-income, elderly and disabled populations. Dr. Rowland, who received her ScD from the Bloomberg School in 1987, is an adjunct professor in the Bloomberg School’s department of health policy and management.

From 1991-2016, Dr. Rowland served as executive director of the Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, now the Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured. A noted authority on Medicare, Medicaid and health policy, she testifies frequently and has published widely on these issues. From 2009-2015, Dr. Rowland served as the inaugural chair of the congressionally authorized Medicaid and  Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC), established to advise Congress on issues related to Medicaid and the CHIP. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine.

Read more