ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Iowa Professor Honored for Faculty Excellence

Dr. Keith Mueller, Gerhard Hartman Professor and head of the department of health management and policy in the University of Iowa College of Public Health, has been named a recipient of the Iowa Board of Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. Dr. Mueller is one of the nation’s leading experts in rural health services and policy. His service to rural communities includes sitting on the board of the Iowa Rural Health Association (of which he was president in 2015) and working with the Iowa Hospital Association to provide guidance to Iowa hospitals.

Keith Mueller College of Public Health

[Photo: Dr. Keith Mueller]

He has served as president of the National Rural Health Association and is a member of the National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services. As director (since 2000) of the Rural Policy Research Institute Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis, he has increased the center’s funding portfolio to create additional research opportunities for faculty, staff, and students.

Under his leadership, the department has grown in numbers, reinforced its commitment to the success of junior faculty members, and implemented two new degree programs.