ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Iowa: Alumnus Named Anesthesia’s Program Director of the Year

Dr. Cormac T. O’Sullivan, a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) from Coralville, Iowa, was recently selected as Program Director of the Year Award by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA).

Dr. O’Sullivan is the program administrator for the University of Iowa College of Nursing’s Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Program in Nurse Anesthesia and practices clinically at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City, Iowa.

Upon becoming program director in 2009, Dr. O’Sullivan immediately transitioned the Iowa program to become the second Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA) approved DNP nurse anesthesia program in the country. The Iowa nurse anesthesia program has produced 182 CRNAs and due to Dr. O’Sullivan’s leadership, more than 105 have earned their DNP degrees.

A consummate health care provider, Dr. O’Sullivan is also part of a three-nurse team that has secured funding to develop a “Simulation in Motion” – mobile simulation truck that will provide simulated education to emergency medical services personnel, rural hospital staff, and critical access hospital providers throughout Iowa.

A CRNA for more than 23 years, Dr. O’Sullivan earned his bachelor’s degree in nursing from the University of Iowa, his CRNA from Ravenswood (Northshore University), his master’s degree in nurse anesthesia from DePaul University in Chicago, Illinois, and his doctorate degree in health management and policy from the University of Iowa College of Public Health.

Tags: ,