ASPPH logo


Partner News

Partner News

Horowitz Foundation Awards Grants to 19 Scholars for Social Policy Research

The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy has selected nineteen scholars to receive grants for research in the social sciences for the 2017 award year. Those receiving awards, their research topics, and the institutions with which they are affiliated are listed at the end of this announcement.

“This year the foundation celebrated its 20th year of providing graduate education funding in the social sciences. Our grants remain among the largest available to social science students,” said chairman, Ms. Mary E. Curtis, “ranging from $7,500 to $12,500. The awards remain highly competitive, with only about 4 percent of completed applications receiving awards. With our new online application system it is now simpler than ever to apply.”

The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy was established in 1997 by Irving Louis Horowitz and Mary E. Curtis as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. Its general purpose is to support the advancement of research and understanding in the major fields of the social sciences. Its specific purpose is to provide small grants to aspiring PhD students at the dissertation level to support the research they are undertaking for their project. Grants are awarded solely on the Trustees’ assessment of the merit of the project. All awards are to individuals, and not institutions. Applicants need not be U.S. citizens or based in the United States.

Since inception, the foundation has awarded grants to well over 200 scholars from over 100 different universities around the world. An increasing number of applications cross traditional disciplinary boundaries, which speaks to the importance of policy studies in the academic world and beyond.

Applications for 2018 Awards

Award applications for next year open July 1, 2018 and all application materials must be received by December 1, 2018. Applicants are encouraged to begin their application online as early as possible. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Award winners for 2018 will be announced on or before June 1, 2019.

Additional information, including a list of previous recipients, is available on the Horowitz Foundation website.

2017 Horowitz Foundation Award Winners

(Alphabetical order)

Gulrez Azhar, Pardee RAND Graduate School

“Indian Summer: Three Essays on Heatwave Vulnerability, Estimation, and Adaptation”


Laura Bellows, Duke University

“Immigration Enforcement and Student Achievement”


Danielle Carr, Columbia University

“The Privatized Cyborg: Emergent Forms of Personhood in Neural Implants for Psychiatric Disorder”


Robert Collinson, New York University

“The Causes and Consequences of Residential Evictions: Evidence from New York City”


Sharon Cornelissen, Princeton University

“Greening the Neighborhood: Community, Bucolic Blight, and Race in Northwest Detroit”


Veronica Horowitz, The University of Minnesota

“Towards a Sociology of Mercy: A Mixed Methods Analysis of Commutation Release in the United States”


Surabhi Karambelkar, University of Arizona

“Hydropower on the Colorado River: Examining Institutions, Conflicts, and Consequences of Changing Dam Operations”


Michael Laughlin, University of Missouri-Columbia

“Racial Disparity in Police Killings”


David Lucas, George Mason University

“Alleviating Homelessness: Assessing an Alternative Approach”


Adam Markovitz, University of Michigan Medical School

“Formation, Impact, and Perspectives of Accountable Care Organizations”


Matthew Pecenco, University of California, Berkeley

“Do Rehabilitative Prison Policies Work? Evidence from a Natural Experiment in the Dominican Republic”


Isabel Perera, University of Pennsylvania

“States of Mind: The Comparative Political Economy of Mental Health”


Deepak Premkumar, University of California, Berkeley

“The Ferguson Effect: Do High-Profile Fatal Encounters with Police Lead to Reductions in Arresting Intensity?”


Kelly Russell, University of Michigan

“Becoming Good Investments: Pay for Success and the Financialization of Deservingness”


William Schpero, Yale University

“Evaluating the Marginal Benefit of Investments in the U.S. Health Care Safety Net”


Michael Schumacher, Loyola University Chicago

“Dying to Fight: The Individual and Social Processes of the Foreign Fighter Phenomenon”


Aparna Soni, Indiana University

“Reducing Health Disparities among People Diagnosed with Cancer: The Role of Public Health Insurance Expansions”


Mary Stitt, University of Texas at Austin

“Medicalizing Justice: Therapeutic Alternatives in the Criminal Courts”


Margaret Thomas, Boston University

“Material Hardship, Public Program Participation, and Children’s Wellbeing”


2017 Special Award Recipients