ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Georgia State Inducts Students, Alumni as Delta Omega Members

The School of Public Health at Georgia State University has welcomed ten graduate students as the newest members of the Gamma Upsilon Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health.

The new membership includes Master of Public Health and PhD candidates who have demonstrated achievements in public health research, policy and education.

The newest members are graduating Master of Public Health students Ms. Sushma Dahal, Ms. Farah Naz Sulaiman, Ms. Camille Kramer, Ms. Nina Le, Ms. Sarah Kabani, Ms. Maithili Bhat, Ms. Amna Tariq, Ms. Mariam Shakeel, Ms. Rabab Zahidi and PhD candidate Ms. Barbara Yankey.

Four Alumni were also inducted: Dr. Ashwini Tiwari, Cordero Tanner, Colleen McCarty, and Reginald Gooden.

The Delta Omega Honorary Society was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University to promote the study of public health, which at the time was a relatively new field.

The Gamma Upsilon Chapter at the School of Public Health at Georgia State was established in 2014 to recognize its students and public health professionals who are dedicated to advancing the well being of all people.

The chapter now includes more than 50 members. The chapter inducts no more than 10 percent of the school’s current graduating student body annually, and all student inductees must be in the upper 25 percent of their class.