ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Georgia State Inducts Delta Omega Student Members

The School of Public Health at Georgia State University has welcomed 14 students as the newest members of the Gamma Upsilon Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health.

Delta Omega 2016 Inductees[1][2]

The new membership includes Master of Public Health and PhD candidates who have demonstrated achievements in public health research, policy and education.

The newest members are graduating Master of Public Health students Ms. Fatima Abdirizak, Ms. Maryam Ahmad, Ms. Christine Murphy Andrews, Ms. Joelle Atere-Roberts, Ms. Kimberly Erukunuakpor, Ms. Angie Guinn, Dr. Omarwalid Noorzada, Ms. Sankan Nyanseor, Ms. Argita Salindri, Ms. Margery Tamas, Ms. Harini Vakamudi, and Ms. Kristen Vales; and PhD candidates Ms. Jessica Rogers Brown and Ms. Malikah Waajid. For the first time, the School held a ceremony to honor inductees.

“This incoming group of Delta Omega inductees represents the strength of diversity inherent in the School of Public Health and is our largest group of inductees to date,” said faculty advisor Dr. Kim Ramsey-White. “Our membership includes students, professionals and faculty who are leading the public health field in their work on obesity prevention, global health, and environmental health — just to name a few. I am looking forward to working with all of them as we continue to serve our Georgia State and the Greater Atlanta communities.”

The Delta Omega Honorary Society was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University to promote the study of public health, which at the time was a relatively new field.

The Gamma Upsilon Chapter at the School of Public Health at Georgia State began in 2014 for the purpose of recognizing its students and public health professionals who are dedicated to advancing the wellbeing of all people. The chapter now includes more than 40 members. The chapter inducts no more than 10 percent of the school’s current graduating student body annually, and all student inductees must be in the upper 25 percent of their class.