ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Georgia State: Delta Omega Inducts Dr. Kathleen Toomey, Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) Commissioner

The Gamma Upsilon chapter of Delta Omega in Georgia State University School of Public Health officially inducted 12 new members in 2019.  Among those new members of the the National Public Health Honors Society were Dr. Kathleen Toomey, the Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) Commissioner. Dr. Toomey was presented with her honorary membership during a DPH Board Meeting by Ms. Amna Tariq, vice president of Delta Omega’s Gamma Upsilon chapter.

The Delta Omega Honorary Society was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University to promote the study of public health, which at the time was a relatively new field.  The Gamma Upsilon Chapter at the Georgia State School of Public Health was established in 2014 to recognize its students and public health professionals who are dedicated to advancing the wellbeing of all people.  The chapter now includes more than 70 members.  The chapter inducts no more than 10 percent of the school’s current graduating student body annually, and all student inductees must be in the upper 25 percent of their class.

The 2019 inductees included:

Dr. Kathleen Toomey

Dr. Gerardo Chowell

Dr. Aung Aung
Ms. Dianna Bonilla
Ms. Joanna Caldwell
Mr. Philip Hudson
Ms. Ashley Moore
Dr. Melissa Osborne
Ms. Apexa Patel
Ms. Cayla Roby
Ms. Gina Sample
Ms. Sunanda Sarker

Click here and here to view photos from the 2019 Induction Ceremonies of of Delta Omega’s Gamma Upsilon chapter.

Learn more about Delta Omega Honor Society at the School of Public Health at Georgia State University.

Tags: ,