ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

FIU Faculty Selected for Fulbright International Education Administrators Award

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board has selected Dr. Aparajita Maitra of FIU Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work to receive a Fulbright International Education Administrators Award.

[Photo: Dr. Aparajita Maitra]

Dr. Maitra is a career higher education administrator with a broad foundation in student and alumni affairs. She’s worked in both private and public institutions, and she’s experienced in student learning and development as well as operations management in support of institutional and professional academic missions.

As part of her award, she’ll be traveling to Germany in order to learn that nation’s societal, cultural and higher education systems. Dr. Maitra is looking forward to applying what she learns in Germany to her work at FIU Stempel College, especially when it comes to encouraging international students and prospective study-abroad students.

“I’m honored to have been selected to receive this award. It’s an incredible opportunity to gain knowledge in the fields of higher education and student affairs, and I expect that it will add another dimension to my understanding of how to engage our growing international population,” Dr. Maitra said.

Before joining FIU Stempel College, Dr. Maitra served as the assistant dean at Roosevelt University and as the director of academic and student affairs at Rush University Medical Center. Her diverse experiences in academics and program development have uniquely prepared her to offer student focused services and programs as the assistant dean for student & alumni affairs at FIU Stempel College.

The Fulbright Scholar program offers competitive, merit-based grants for international educational exchange for students, teachers, professionals, scientists and artists. The program was founded by U.S. Sen. J. William Fulbright in 1946. This Fulbright Program grant is made possible through funds appropriated annually by the U.S. Congress.

Read more: