ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Emory: Rollins Student Wins 2019 Donald A. Pegg Student Leadership Award

Ms. Krystyna Rastorguieva, a prevention science student in the Executive MPH program at the Emory University Rollins School of Public Health, was recently named the winner of the 2019 Donald A. Pegg Student Leadership Award by the American College of Lifestyle Medicine. Ms. Rastorguieva was recognized at the organization’s annual conference this past fall, in a room filled with many of her heroes. 

“Winning this award was one of the most meaningful moments of my career so far,” said Ms. Rastorguieva. “It was such an incredible honor and surprise to have been selected.” 

This annual memorial award serves to honor the memory of Donald A. Pegg, an advocate for lifestyle medicine, and is presented to four student leaders each year who are committed to advancing this important field initially through the establishment of a Lifestyle Medicine Interest Group at their respective educational institution and later through continued involvement and work in the field. 

Ms. Rastorguieva developed the Emory Lifestyle Medicine Interest Group in close collaboration with her colleagues at Emory Healthcare, where she works as an outreach liaison. Still brand-new (the kick-off meeting was on December 4), the multidisciplinary group received $500 in seed funding through Rastorguieva’s award and caters to Emory students, faculty, and health care professionals interested in learning and sharing knowledge surrounding lifestyle medicine. With a focus on networking, education, and resources, the group has several guest speakers and events planned throughout the 2020 school year and is open to anyone working or studying in the Emory community. 

“This is the most exciting aspect of the award for me,” says Ms. Rastorguieva. “It gives our group backing and credibility.” 

Read full article.

Tags: ,