The ASPPH Student Services Excellence Award recognizes individuals who have devoted their careers to innovating and improving the experience for applicants and students. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty or staff member from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health.

2022 Award Recipient

Michael Vega, PhD, MSW

Rutgers School of Public Health

Read More


Criteria for Award

Nominations should include a description of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in:

Demonstration of innovative leadership for enhancing excellence, health equity, and inclusiveness in academic public health student services.

Any or all areas of Recruitment, Admissions, Student Services, Financial Aid, and Career Services.

Examples of activities which will be considered:

Unique or innovative service delivery models;

Exemplary processes or procedures that simplify or add value for the students;

Collaborative efforts either across functional areas or institutions;

Unique models to target underrepresented groups; and

Innovative training or professional development efforts.


Nominees must be full-time staff or faculty from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health. View the list of ASPPH-member institutions. The nominee must have:

A primary appointment in an ASPPH-member school or program of public health; and

Demonstrate a notable record of success and innovation in the field (minimum five years).

Award Details

$1,000 Cash Prize

Complimentary registration for ASPPH Annual Meeting

Recognition at the Awards Ceremony

Past Winners


Vincent James, MBA, MA, MS

Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health


Scot McIntosh, MS

West Virginia University School of Public Health


Marlyn Delva, EdD

Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health


Erin E. Schneider, MPH

Texas A&M School of Public Health


Mary Murphy-Phillips, MS

Boston University School of Public Health


Mary Ann Smith, PhD

University of Texas School of Public Health


Kara Brown Robinson, EdD, MS

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health