Award Page
Congratulations to our 2023 Awardee!
The ASPPH Early Career Research Excellence Award recognizes an outstanding early-career investigator. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty member within 10 years of her or his last formal training (not including postdoctoral research) from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health.

2023 Award Recipient

Lauren E. McCullough, PhD MSPH

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health

Read More


Criteria for Award

Nominations should include a description of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in:

  • Demonstration of innovative leadership for enhancing excellence, health equity, and inclusiveness in early career academic public health research.
  • Exemplary and documented scholarly accomplishments that lead to advances that improve health and wellbeing, prevent disease and disability, and/or advance the research mission of academic public health.


Nominees must be full-time faculty members at the level of either assistant or associate professor from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health. View the list of ASPPH-member institutions.

A primary appointment in an ASPPH-member school or program of public health; and

Demonstrate a notable record of success (minimum five years, maximum 10 years) in investigating public health issues.

Required Materials

All nominations must contain the following materials:

  • Nominee and nominator contact information
  • Overview statement of nominee’s contributions (limit 800 words)
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • Two additional letters of support.

Award Details

$1,000 Cash Prize

Complimentary registration for ASPPH Annual Meeting

Recognition at the Awards Ceremony

Review & Selection

Each nomination is assigned to an objective review and selection committee for that award. The committee is comprised of previous awardees, ASPPH Section leaders, and those nominated by their Dean to participate. Nominations are scored on the following criteria:

  • Overall Rating (5=best, 1=worst)
  • The work (research/practice/teaching) conducted by this candidate has promising implications for improving public health (5=strongly agree, 1=strongly disagree)
  • Strength of the letters of support (5=very strong, 1=very weak)
  • Strength of candidate’s experience (CV) (5=very strong, 1=very weak)

All scores and comments are compiled, the candidates ranked, and a summary report is sent to the committee for review.

A Zoom meeting is scheduled with the ASPPH Program manager and committee to discuss each nomination and determine the awardee.

Past Winners


Amanda Fretts, PhD, MPH

University of Washington School of Public Health


Joseph Lewnard, PhD

University of California, Berkeley School of Public Health


Rachel R. Hardeman, PhD, MPH

University of Minnesota School of Public Health


Brandon Marshall, PhD

Brown University School of Public Health


Olivia A. Wackowski, PhD, MPH

Rutgers School of Public Health


Stephanie Brooke Wheeler, PhD, MPH

University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health


Matthew Freeman, PhD, MPH

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health


Solveig Cunningham, PhD, MSc

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health


Jared M. Baeten, MD, PhD

University of Washington School of Public Health


Dana Dolinoy, PhD, MSc

University of Michigan School of Public Health


Lauren Wise, ScD

Boston University School of Public Health


Jane Kim, PhD, MSc

Harvard University School of Public Health


Lia Fernald, PhD, MBA

University of California, Berkeley, School of Public Health