ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Drexel Dean Receives American College of Epidemiology Award for Outstanding Contributions to Epidemiology

The 2017 Recipient of the Outstanding Contributions to Epidemiology Award is Dr. Ana V. Diez Roux. Dr. Diez Roux is Dean and Distinguished Professor at Drexel University Dornsife School of Public Health.

[Photo: Dr. Ana V. Diez Roux]

The award is conferred each year by the American College of Epidemiology. This award recognizes an active epidemiologist for outstanding contributions to the field in one of three areas: 1) methods development; 2) etiologic research; or 3) applied epidemiology.

Originally trained as a pediatrician in Buenos Aires, Dr. Diez Roux completed public health training at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health. Before Drexel, she served on the faculties of Columbia University and the University of Michigan, where she was chair of the department of epidemiology and director of the Center for Social Epidemiology and Population Health.

Dr. Diez Roux is internationally known for her research on the social determinants of health and the study of how neighborhoods affect health. Her work on neighborhood health effects has been highly influential in the policy debate on population health and its determinants. Her research areas also include environmental and psychosocial health effects, cardiovascular disease epidemiology, and the use of multilevel methods and complex systems approaches in population health.  She has led large research and training programs in the United States and in collaboration with partners in Latin America. Dr. Diez Roux has served on numerous editorial boards, review panels and committees including most recently the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee of the Environmental Protection Agency (as Chair). She was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2009. She has been an active mentor for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty.