ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia’s Professor Honored by the American Psychological Association

Dr. Mark L. Hatzenbuehler, associate professor of sociomedical sciences and sociology at Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, received the American Psychological Association (APA) Distinguished Scientific Contribution Division 44 Award for his theoretical and empirical contributions to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender psychological issues. The winners of this award have made far-reaching and visionary contributions to the development of a science of LGBT psychology and provided the science base for practice, education and the development of public policy.

Dr. Hatzenbuehler is one of the leading investigators on structural stigma — particularly as it relates to LGBT health. His recent work has examined how social policies that differentially target sexual minorities (e.g., same-sex marriage laws, employment non-discrimination policies, anti-bullying policies) affect the health of lesbian, gay, and bisexual populations.

He is the recipient of numerous awards for contributions in his field, including the 2018 William T. Grant Scholars Award to promising researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences. Dr. Hatzenbuehler also received the Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions from the Association for Psychological Science, which celebrates cutting edge ideas from the most creative and promising investigators who cross traditional sub-disciplinary lines in psychological science. In 2015 the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues honored Dr. Hatzenbuehler with its Louise Kidder Early Career Award, which recognizes young social issues researchers who have made substantial contributions to the field.

Dr. Hatzenbuehler will be formally recognized in San Francisco at APA’s annual convention in August.