ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia: Names Hamied Fellowships for 2020

Columbia University Mailman School Dean Linda P. Fried has announced the Yusuf Hamied Fellows for 2020. Launched in 2018 to catalyze collaborative approaches to public health challenges in India, the Yusuf Hamied Fellowship program builds strong bilateral relationships to create robust research networks that enable Mailman School faculty to work in India and researchers from Indian institutions to work here. In addition to the Fellowship program, the generosity of Columbia Mailman board member Dr. Yusuf K. Hamied has made possible the Yusuf Hamied Distinguished Lecture.

From the Mailman School, this year’s fellows are Dr. Pam Factor-Litvak, professor in epidemiology, Dr. Jeanine Genkinger, associate professor of epidemiology, and Dr. Rupak Shivakoti, assistant professor in epidemiology.

The fellowship also supports several India Fellows from public health institutions across India: Dr. Rama Baru, professor, Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health, Jawaharlal Nehru University (New Delhi, India); Dr. Rajan Patil, associate professor, School of Public Health, SRM University (Chennai, India); and Dr. Krithiga Shridhar, epidemiologist, Centre for Environmental Health, Public Health Foundation of India (Gurugram, Haryana, India).

Read more information on their innovative projects.

Tags: ,