ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia: Mailman School Professor Mark Hatzenbuehler Awarded National Institute of Mental Health Grant

Dr. Mark Hatzenbuehler, associate professor of sociomedical sciences, was awarded a five-year R01 grant from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) entitled, “Biopsychosocial mechanisms underlying internalizing psychopathology in a prospective, population-based cohort of sexual minority young adults.” The award is for $3,524,202.

Sexual minority (SM) populations face among the highest odds of depression, anxiety, and suicide of any group; however, little is known about the biopsychosocial mechanisms underlying internalizing psychopathology across SM development, which represents a critical gap in knowledge. This study offers the most comprehensive and methodologically rigorous investigation of internalizing psychopathology among young adult SM populations to date, permitting unprecedented tests of the mechanisms underlying mental disorders among this vulnerable population of young adults.  This research promises to uncover new information regarding modifiable treatment targets to advance the health of SM populations.

Dr. Hatzenbuehler is the recipient of numerous awards for contributions in his field, including the 2018 William T. Grant Scholars Award; the 2016 Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions from the Association for Psychological Science; and the 2015 Louise Kidder Early Career Award from the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues.