ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia: Epidemiologist Elected to National Academy of Medicine

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) today announced that Dr. Charles Branas, Gelman Endowed Professor of Epidemiology, and chair, Department of Epidemiology at Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine during its annual meeting. Considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine, election to the Academy recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

Dr. Branas is known for his scientific leadership on interventions that directly transform places and improve determinants of health, such as access to medical care, greenspace, and housing. His pioneering work on geographic access to medical care has changed the healthcare landscape in the U.S. and other countries for multiple conditions.  He has also focused on seemingly intractable health issues, one of a very small group of scientists who have persisted in gun violence research despite societal disincentives, ultimately producing innovative and widely adopted approaches. Dr. Branas’ research has been applied in landmark Supreme Court decisions, Congress, and by numerous mayors and city councils. He has led multi-national efforts and mentored scientists into leadership posts around the world.

New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors.

Tags: ,