ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia Dean Named to Governing Board of National Academy of Medicine

Dean Linda P. Fried, DeLamar Professor of Public Health at the Mailman School of Public Health, was elected to the Council of the National Academy of Medicine for a three — year term beginning July 2017. The Council is the governing body of the Academy elected by the membership.

[Photo: Dean Linda P. Fried]

Dr. Fried has dedicated her career to the science of healthy aging and done seminal work in defining frailty as a clinical syndrome. She is the designer and co-founder of Experience Corps, an evidence-based program in which older volunteers serve in public schools in cities across the country.

Most recently, Dr. Fried was the recipient of the 2016 Inserm International Prize in Medical Research. She has been profiled by The New York Times as one of 15 world leaders in science, and in 2014, global publisher Thomson Reuters named her “one of the most influential scientific minds of the past decade.” Dr. Fried is the 2016-17 President of the Association of American Physicians, the elected society of the U.S. leading physician scientists. She is the first Dean of a School of Public Health to be President of AAP.

Established in 1970 as the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Medicine — composed of leaders from health, medicine and the sciences — addresses critical issues nationally and globally and collaborates closely with its peer academies and other divisions within the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.